Getting back on the blogging horse

February 23, 2010 eileenyoung

Long time no blog – but I’m back and going to attempt to write again about trying to get work in the performance industry.

Lately there hasn’t been much in the way of work headed my way, so I’ve been focussing on getting a better voicereel and making new contacts.

I’m currently waiting on a new voicereel to be sent to me having auditioned for a voiceover studio. Voiceover work is great fun and nice and easy to do. As soon as I get my new voicereel, I’ll stick it up for you guys (and prospective employers) to hear my voice.

The main body of experience that I’ve had with voiceovers have been at college and for small production companies such as Silly Wee Films, although I did do a voiceover for an advert with STV. With its purpose built booth for voiceovers… it was the poshest studio I’ve been in. So posh was this studio and well designed – that they built the advert in front of my eyes on the computer screens.

Usually for voiceovers I warm up in the car – living out in the country, I usually have to travel, so warm ups and a little singing usually gets me ready for voiceovers.

My father in law should really make an effort and get a voicereel. He has a wonderfully bassy Scottish voice and with his added ‘Dollar Academy’ accent (usually referred to with my English sis-in-law as Posh Jock) he can charm the socks of listening punters. In fact, he does a rather good Sean Connery impression and has recorded one for small production company Gonzo Filmz Ltd.

Hopefully in the next few weeks, I’m going to get my showreel sorted… or at least on the way to be sorted. I’m really going to be pushing myself to get better and get jobs.

A couple weeks ago I popped down to London with my hubby Kai to see Wicked at the Apollo Victoria. Wow. What an incredible performance. Loved the show, as did Kai and will be totally learning the score. Just for fun.

Catch you soon,

Eileen xx

Entry Filed under: 1

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
 
